Book Reviews


These are the books I have reviewed till date :-

Book Review – The Full Moon Bride

Shobhan Bantwal has published 5 novels and 2 anthologies before this one. Her books cover a wide variety of women centric issues from dowry to pre-marital sex to even abortions based on gender. ‘The Full Moon Bride’ explores the concept of arranged marriage from the point of view of an Indian American woman. Does it work? Let’s check it out.

To read more log on to – http://transitionofthoughts.com/2014/09/08/book-review-full-moon-bride/

Book Review – Private India

Ashwin Sanghi has made a name for himself in the Indian literary industry with some interesting novels whether its ‘The Rozabal Line’, ‘The Krishna Key’ or ‘Chanakya’s Chant’. He is known for mixing mythology, historical events with some amount of fiction and thus producing a brilliant read captivating audiences across the spectrum. With ‘Private India’, he combines with the internationally acclaimed author of the ‘Private’ series – James Patterson. Does it work? Let’s check it out.

To read more log on to – http://transitionofthoughts.com/2014/09/07/book-review-private-india/

Book Review: Ramayana – The Game of Life: Rise of the Sun Prince

Amish Tripathi, Devdutt Pattanaik, Ashwin Sanghi & Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni among others are some of the famous names, readers in India associate with mythological fiction. With captivating storylines and interesting characters, mythological fiction is finding a lot of readers in India. Personally, I am not a fan of mythological fiction but Shubha Vilas’s Ramayana – The Game of Life: Rise of the Sun Prince seemed quite interesting since it wasn’t fiction but instead a modern take on Ramayana without any changes. Does it work? Let’s check it out.

To read more log on to – http://transitionofthoughts.com/2014/08/17/book-review-ramayana-the-game-of-life-rise-of-the-sun-prince/

Book Review – The Other Side

‘The Other Side’ is Faraaz Kazi’s 2nd book after the award winning “Truly Madly Deeply” published in 2010. Though I haven’t read his first one, I was quite keen to read the second one especially considering that it was one of the first books in the horror genre I had seen from a contemporary Indian writer. He’s written this one in collaboration with Vivek Banerjee whose a pediatrician by profession but a passionate writer as well. So does it work? Let’s check it out.

The blurb goes like this -

“A slow rasping sound made me turn. I jumped back, the cell phone leaving my hands and smashing against the concrete floor. Someone was seated on the chair, rocking back and forth. Through the fallen light, I could see those hands placed on the arms of the chair, two gruesome wrinkled limbs with ugly boils plastered over the black skin. The red bangles on its wrists shone in my eyes, momentarily blinding me. That thing and I call it a thing because I could sense it wasn’t human as no human could have such a hideous form, as vile an existence as the one seated opposite to my horrified self.”

From a honeymoon in the hill that goes horribly wrong to an obsessed lover who wants his first love in life and in death; From a mentally deranged man who collects body parts of various women to stitch together his dream girl to a skeptic who enters a mansion of horrors to win a bet and much more, this book is filled with scenarios that are guaranteed to give you goosebumps and sleepless nights.

The Other Side is a collection of thirteen tales of the paranormal; a world that our eyes refuse to see, our ears deny hearing and our senses ignore the feel of. This is a book for someone who is brave enough to take up this invitation to journey through uncharted waters along with the authors, who were inspired by some bizarre experiences to pen down this work where the lines of reality have been blurred by the footsteps of imagination.

Each story takes you on a tour de force of unadulterated horror and draws upon the deepest fear in the human mind- the fear of the Unknown!

To read more log on to – http://transitionofthoughts.com/2014/07/21/book-review-the-other-side/

Book Review – Crossroads: It’s about time..

Crossroads – Its about time is Preeti Singh’s second book after the acclaimed Flirting with Fate which was nominated for the Commonwealth Booker’s Prize of 2012. It won the Best Debut Crime Fiction Award in the same year. She has also been writing for various magazines like Femina and Women’s Era. So does her 2nd novel work? Let’s check it out.

To read more log on to – http://transitionofthoughts.com/2014/06/16/book-review-crossroads-its-about-time/

Book Review – Urban Shots: Yuva

Urban Shots: Yuva is the fifth book in the Urban Shots anthology series. Over the years, Grey Oak and Westland (Urban Shots publishers) have become synonymous with introducing new authors with short stories across genres of love, hate, city life, lust and the likes. Together the series has sold thousands of copies. And now Rupa Publications have taken up the reins for the new one. Does it work as before? Let’s check it out.

The blurb goes like this:

An eclectic potpourri of short stories written by young writers, Urban Shots: Yuva offers a realistic, panoramic view of today’s India. Narrated with intensity, these sharply introspective and distinct urban tales are reflective of the diverse nature of our lives in Indian cities. In ‘The Love Note’, Tara and Rahul find unexpected love after a bitter fight; a widowed Nikita finally learns to let go of her past in ‘Long Walk Back to the Shore’ while Gopal unwittingly encounters danger in ‘The Cab Driver’.

To read more log on to – http://transitionofthoughts.com/2014/06/15/book-review-urban-shots-yuva-2/

Book Review – Prisoner Jailor Prime Minister

‘Prisoner Jailor Prime Minister’ is Tabrik C’s first novel. He is a political enthusiast, entrepreneur and perfumer. His novel is a political thriller which deals with one man’s journey across countries to confront inner and outer demons out to wreck havoc on India.

The blurb goes like this –

“India is on the edge as a subversive internal revolt against the constitution, and the threat of jehadi terror of an unthinkable level, are looming on the horizon.

Ringing Shiva’s damaru in and out of the Parliament, a sudden turn of karma catapults outsider Siddhartha Tagore – a conflicted genius, music maestro and prodigal son, with forceful views on China and Pakistan into national prominence as the head of the Opposition Alliance and finally as the newly elected Prime Minister of a disturbed nation.

But buried secrets are being resurrected and threaten to expose the past. Twisted within the double helix of menacing politics and hidden lust, ‘Prisoner Jailor Prime Minister’ is a scorching account of Siddhartha Tagore’s fascinating journey from Harvard to 7 Race Course Road.

To read more log on to – http://transitionofthoughts.com/2014/03/10/book-review-prisoner-jailor-prime-minister/

Book Review – Amreekandesi: Masters of America

Atulya Mahajan had sent across this book to me more than 6 months back. There were a couple of times I began to read it but due to my busy schedules at work, I couldn’t move forward. But finally, the day came and the book was read and done with in the space of just a couple of hours.

“Amreekandesi: Masters of America” is Atulya Mahajan’s first ever novel. But he is surely not a novice on the literary scene. He has regaled millions in India and across the world through his satirical comments, jokes and blog posts on social media since quite a while. So when I got to know about his book, I was more than excited to get hold of it. Does it work? Let’s check it out.

The blurb goes like this:

Atulya Mahajan’s debut novel Amreekandesi: Masters Of America is a story of two Indian boys with the same dream of making a career in America. With a touch of satire, the story relates how these Indian students meet in the US while they are searching for their fabled American Dream. The protagonists of this novel are Akhil Arora and Jaspreet Singh, who are fated to become friends in this foreign land.

These two characters come from different states in India – one is from Delhi and the other is from Punjab. Akhil Arora is portrayed as a young engineer studying in Delhi craves freedom from his overbearing family and wants to prove to them that he is capable of managing his own life.

Jaspreet Singh comes from a small town in Punjab and calls himself Jassi. He wishes to live the American dream, akin to the movie American Pie. Jassi and Akhil meet in Florida and become roommates. While studying in the States, they take up jobs for survival. They become close friends and share their hopes and dreams with each other.

Both of them are on extreme opposites as far as their perspectives are concerned. Akhil, is an ardent patriot and he wishes to return to India after spending a few years abroad. On the other hand, Jassi does not want to carry on with his Indian identity as it makes him feel embarrassed and uncomfortable. So, he has a plan to look for an American girl and settle down in America. While Akhil falls in love with Nandita, a girl he met on the flight; Jassi’s dream of living an American life is shattered at every step.

In Amreekandesi: Masters Of America the author has included his witty insights and humorous anecdotes. While chronicling the classic experience of an immigrant, the author highlights the identity crises and survival in a foreign place. He highlights how people change when they live in a foreign land.

To read more log on to – http://transitionofthoughts.com/2014/01/20/book-review-amreekandesi-masters-of-america/

Book Review – Boomerang

From education to aviation to writing, Rajshri Raajgopal has got a taste of various avenues in life. She has written a couple of children’s books. And this one is her first attempt at entering the world of adult fiction. Does it work? Let’s check it out.

The blurb goes like this –

Set in a scenic village on the outskirts of Trivandrum, the capital of Kerala, this is the story of the struggles of a woman in its hostile society. The journey of Anna through her battle for freedom from an unhappy household, her first love, a debilitating marriage and a stressful divorce shows the reader how difficult life is for a young woman even in this modern era. Her remarriage is a blessing in every way but it comes with a curse too Anna finds an unusual friend who is determined to destroy her new life.

To read more log on to – http://transitionofthoughts.com/2013/07/06/book-review-boomerang/

Book Review – The Other Side of the Table

‘The Other Side of the Table’ is Madhumita Mukherjee’s first novel. She has pursued medicine and works as a consultant paediatrician in Manchester. She has a special affinity for epistolary novels. And that’s what she pursues in her first attempt at writing. Does it work? Let’s check it out.

The blurb goes like this –

Circa 1990.
A world drawn and woven with words.
A bond punctuated by absence and distance . . .
Two continents. Two cities. Two people.
And letters. Hundreds of them.
Over years. Across oceans. Between hearts.

Between Abhi, who is training to be a neurosurgeon in London, and Uma, who is just stepping into the world of medicine in Kolkata.

As they ink their emotions onto paper, their lives get chronicled in this subtly nuanced conversation through letters . . . letters about dreams, desires, heartbreaks, and longings . . . about a proverbial good life falling apart, about a failed marriage, a visceral loss, and about a dream that threatens social expectations . . .

Letters that talk. And don’t. Letters about this and that. Letters about everything . . .

Letters with a story you would never expect.

To read more log on to – http://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2013/05/28/book-review-the-other-side-of-the-table/

Book Review – Revenge of the Naked Princess

Oswald Pereira is the author of the widely acclaimed crime thriller ‘The Newsroom Mafia’. ‘Revenge of the Naked Princess’ is his second book. This time he has delved into the history of how Portuguese were involved in the forced conversions of Hindus to Christians. The topic sounds quite unique and interesting. Does the book work? Let’s check it out.

The blurb goes like this –

On a hot, humid morning in May 1545, a joint conversion brigade of the Portugese King and the Pope set out to spread Christ’s message of love and compassion, but they leave behind a deathly trail of murder and mayhem. Armed with a monstrous cannon and scores of firearms, the brigade raids Princess Darshana Kamya Kathodi’s palace in Tana carrying for her and her people the King’s inviolable conversion order… sealed by the Pope’s promise of a new heaven.

The beautiful, 18 year old tribal princess fights back with her ace archers’ poison arrows. Revenge of the Naked Princess shows how brutal forced conversions can blur the line between religion and carnage.

This historical page turner by veteran journalist-turned-novelist Oswald Pereira comes after the success of his widely – acclaimed, best-selling thriller ‘The Newsroom Mafia’.

To read more log on to – http://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2013/05/22/book-review-revenge-of-the-naked-princess/

Book Review – Clear Line of Fire

‘Clear Line of Fire’ is Badrinath Nuggehalli’s first novel. He has dabbled for many years in advertising and marketing and has also started a marketing consultancy (Aqumena) of his own in Mumbai. This is his first novel. Does it work? Let’s check it out.

To read more log on to – http://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2013/05/01/book-review-clear-line-of-fire/

Book Review – Once Upon The Tracks of Mumbai

“Once Upon The Tracks of Mumbai” is Rishi Vohra’s first novel. From the entertainment industry to pursuing a green MBA and finally to publishing a book, Rishi has done it all. He has also been a guest columnist for various newspapers and a regular writer of wine. So does his novel work? Let’s check it out.

The blurb goes like this –

“Autistic. Schizophrenic. Psychotic…”

‘They’ use these words to describe Babloo – the doctors, his family, his teachers..everyone..except Vandana. She treats him the way he wants the world to see him.

Mumbai..the city that defines his ultimate desires. Will it allow him the love and ‘normalcy’ he so craves?

Vandana..yearns for a soulmate to rescue her from the confines of the Railway Colony they all live in. Is she looking in the right place?

Rail Man..a fearless, real – life hero who succeeds in doing all that Babloo secretly wishes to do..is Babloo his inspiration or..is it the other way around?

A random twist of fate on Mumbai’s endless, serpent – like, jangling local train tracks ties all these characters together in a complex weave of love, heartbreak and courage.

Babloo draws the reader into his fascinating, heart – rending journey through the twisted, choked lanes of Mumbai, into an open space where he can finally be born again.

To read more log on to – http://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2013/04/13/book-review-once-upon-the-tracks-of-mumbai/

Book Review – The Karachi Deception

‘The Karachi Deception’ is Shatrujeet Nath’s first novel. In the past he has delved into business journalism and was the Assistant Editor at Economic Times. This novel is published by Grey Oak Publishers in combination with Westland Books and seems to be another addition to the list in the growing and upcoming military thriller genre in India. Does it work? Let’s check it out.

To read more log on to – http://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2013/03/25/book-review-the-karachi-deception/

Book Review – Red Jihad

“Red Jihad” is Sami Ahmad Khan’s first attempt at writing a novel. He has engaged in film production, teaching, theater and writing. His short stories, plays and articles have been published in magazines and academic journals. Does his first novel work? Let’s check it out.

To read more log on to – http://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2013/02/10/book-review-red-jihad-battle-for-south-asia/

Book Review – Zombiestan

Mainak Dhar has thirteen books to his credit. But to be honest I had never heard of him or this book till I got hold of it. I am a fan of books which deal with terrorism, suspense, thrillers and the likes. But only if our contemporary Indian writers get time to move away from romance and college love stories, would they write something else, right? Anyways, so I began this book with quite some expectation. Did it impress me? Let’s check it out.

To read more log on to – http://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2012/12/06/book-review-zombiestan/

Book Review – Urban Shots: Bright Lights

In a short period of time, Grey Oak Publishers have created quite a name for themselves in encouraging young authors, bloggers and giving a chance to debutante writers. Multi – story anthologies with works from a variety of authors maybe the best thing for first time writers. And this is where the anthologies like ‘Urban Shots: Bright Lights’ come in. This one has 29 stories from 21 writers across varied backgrounds.

To read more log on to – http://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2012/10/27/book-review-urban-shots-bright-lights/

Book Review – The Dust Will Never Settle

Mukul Deva has lived, breathed and slept the ‘Lashkar’ series for the last couple of years. Whether it was ‘Lashkar’, ‘Salim Must Die’, ‘Blowback’ or ‘Tanzeem’, Mukul put his heart and soul into ensuring that these books were loved by his audiences. So what next after this?

‘The Dust Will Never Settle’ is his first book after the Lashkar series ended. In this pacy fusion of fact and fiction, he unravels the private tragedy of the Gill family against the high-stakes backdrop of international politics and deadly intrigue.

To read more log on to – http://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2012/09/12/book-review-the-dust-will-never-settle/

Book Review – You Never Know When You’ll Get Lucky!

“You Never Know When You’ll Get Lucky!” (YNKWYGL) is written by Priyadarshini Narendra and is the next book from the ‘Fingerprint Publishing’ stable. Priya has spent several years in the advertising industry and has many interesting campaigns to her credit. This is her first attempt at portraying life in the fast lane of the advertising world. Does she succeed? Let’s check it out.

To read more log on to – http://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2012/09/02/book-review-you-never-know-when-youll-get-lucky/

Book Review – You & Me: Our Relationship

“You & Me: Our Relationship” is Nikhil Mukhija’s first novel. To be honest, the first time I heard the name of this one, I thought to myself “Oh no! Not another college love story.” But then, when I turned to look at the back cover, I was surprised to read that this one is a non – fiction / self – help book. So does it work? Let’s check it out.

To read more log on to – http://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2012/06/13/book-review-you-me-our-relationship/

Book Review – Marathon Baba

‘Marathon Baba’ is Girish Kohli’s first novel. Or as the book puts it, it is his third book which has been published first. Along with the quirky title, what catches your attention as soon as you get hold of the book is the cover design. The colours, font sty;e as well as the map on the back cover give the book a very unique feel. Does the book work? Let’s check it out.

To read more log on to – http://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2012/06/10/book-review-marathon-baba/

Book Review – Fate, Fraud & A Friday Wedding

“Fate, Fraud & A Friday Wedding” is Bhavna Rai’s first attempt at writing. In a career spanning 14 years across nations, she has worked with some of the top leading technology firms of the world. To be honest, I didn’t have the slightest idea of this book until the author contacted me herself to review it. Does it work? Let’s check it out.

To read more log on to – http://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2012/06/03/book-review-fate-fraud-a-friday-wedding/

Book Review – Zero Percentile 2.0

‘Zero Percentile 2.0’ is Neeraj Chhibba’s sequel to ‘Zero Percentile’ which was a bestseller when it released a couple of years back. Frankly speaking when I got the book from the author, I presumed that it was going to be another college love story, something which has become too common these days in the contemporary Indian literary world. Does it live up to those expectations or traverses a completely different path? Let’s see.

To read more log on to – http://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2012/04/03/book-review-zero-percentile-2-0/

Book Review – Miracle in the Andes

‘Miracle in the Andes – 72 Days on the Mountain and My Long Trek Home’ is the story of adventure, courage, tragedy, horror, terror, love and much more of a group of individuals who survive for 72 days at more than 12000 feet in the Andes. Penned by Nando Parrado (one of the survivors) and Vince Rause, it is an autobiographical account of the days Nando and his comrades had to face high in the Andes.

To read more log on to – http://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2012/03/26/book-review-miracle-in-the-andes/

Book Review – Messiah of the Scarlet Silence

“Messiah of the Scarlet Silence” is the Arun Chaturvedi’s first writing attempt. Interestingly this book is available only in very select bookstores across the country. Maybe the author decided that he wanted to see the crowd reaction before printing more copies. Nonetheless, I bought it because crime thrillers are something which greatly interest me. Does it work?

The blurb goes like this –

There has always been a conflict between justice as a temporary phenomenon meted through a procedure, and the eternal conscience embedded deep within every subconscious state. Justice delayed, or even denied has had reverberating repercussions prompting individuals to mete out justice in a manner they deem as justified.

Molestation and rapes are rampant, and very few woman get their true justice. Many shy away from the courts fearing the stigma as well as the caustic remarks from the society. The trauma is intensified in court when the accused defense attorney attempt at character assassination to belittle the victim or make the incident look like a consensual act. The outdated legalities and the legal process itself are too slow, while the punitive punishments hardly serve as deterrents.

In this fictional incident based at Mumbai, a young girl is raped and murdered. And extraordinary situation demands a different remedial, and down the line, a bereaved sympathizer is created, who takes on the role as the messiah of the silent death, the scarlet silence.

While the story remains focused primarily on the police, the plot weaves into place the role of the judiciary, media, politician, underworld, and the public. It questions the role of these external elements that transform an honest person into a hardened killer. It raises hard questions on a crime that is rampant and continues unabated. It speaks of the core of the system that needs to be transformed. By including factual incidents, readers can co – relate those with this story that links the facts and fiction, to give it a realistic dimension.

To read more log on to – http://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2012/03/05/book-review-messiah-of-the-scarlet-silence/

Book Review – The Newsroom Mafia

“The Newsroom Mafia” is the debut novel of Oswald Pereira, a journalist with over thirty years of experience. Published by the Grey Oak – Westland combine, it was one of the most recently awaited novels off late. A racy crime thriller which promised to expose the unholy nexus between police, politicians, underworld and the press, the book garnered quite some interesting previews. Does it work?

The blurb goes like this –

When Supercop Donald Fernandez declares an all – out war against the invincible Don, Narayan Swamy, he fights back with a formidable Mafia – a private army of armed thugs and a motley gang of corrupt police officers, backed by powerful politicians. What follows is a battle of raw power, sleaze, wits and dirty tactics by both the law breakers and the law enforcers, blurring boundaries between good and evil. To save his skin, the Don fires his most lethal weapon, the Newsroom Mafia.

To read more log on to – http://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2012/02/26/book-review-the-newsroom-mafia/

Book Review – Scammed: Confessions of a Confused Accountant

“Scammed: Confessions of a Confused Accountant” is one among the latest releases from the Grey Oak – Westland stable. Interestingly the author has decided to go with the pen name “Anonymous” rather than his real identity. On seeing that, I presumed the book delved into something really explosive – frauds, scams etc. which may shake the country and may have had the potential to give the author enough sleepless nights. So did it live up to the expectations?

The blurb goes like this -

Life is miserable for Hitesh Shah despite his coveted job in a top accounting firm. Labeled a nerd by colleagues, ignored by women and rebuked by parents, Hitesh cannot resist when offered a lucrative job as the CEO of an offshoot of the failing automobile company, Supreme Motors. So what if the owner Venugopal Reddy, a sleazy businessman with political connections, actually wants Hitesh to fix the company to save his skin? Hitesh’s drive and quest for success helps turn the Company’s fortunes around; he is seen a rising corporate star, he begins dating a model and is pampered by parents.

Championed as the poster boy of emerging India, Hitesh’s fairytale ends quickly. As his cursed luck would have it, he is soon on the run from the law – allegedly as the perpetrator of a financial scam and accused of defrauding thousands of investors! With his back against the wall, and growing public and media opinion against him, will Hitesh come out of the mess he finds himself in?

To read more log on to – http://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2012/02/25/book-review-scammed-confessions-of-a-confused-accountant/

Book Review – A Godly Blunder

“A Godly Blunder” is Parimal Kalikar, a hotel management graduate and a former credit card salesman’s first attempt at writing. Truthfully speaking, I hadn’t heard of this book even once before he contacted me to review it. I found it a bit different immediately after reading the synopsis and couldn’t say no. Even though I already had around 6-7 books in my ‘To-read’ list, I couldn’t resist picking up this one ahead of the others.

The blurb goes like this -

Oliver, a quality control manager in a premium car company in Germany dies in an accident and reaches heaven. He is enjoying the lavish lifestyle of a movie star..till God decides to send him on a short ‘assignment’ due to a technical snag in the Soul Management System (SMS) of Swarga. He wakes up in the body of an Indian middle class man Siddhesh. Thus starts his rollercoaster journey to India. He is baffled by the extent of corruption and dishonesty in the country as he is warmed by the affection that binds Indian families. To add to his woes, his two maverick escorts from Swarga keep disappearing without notice.

What happens at the end of the unusual assignment? And what happens when God tells you that you don’t need Him? A Godly Blunder is a hilarious ride to heaven and back to earth, which will keep the readers amused all the way.

To read more log on to – http://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2012/02/20/book-review-a-godly-blunder/#more-1336

Book Review – Tanzeem

Tanzeem is the fourth and final installment (After Lashkar, Salim Must Die and Blowback) in Mukul Deva’s series of military thrillers. He has written these books at such breakneck speed that he released the 4 books over a span of 4 years from 2008 till 2011. I like many others am in love with his Tom Clancy style writing. And ever since I read Blowback, I was waiting for the day I could lay my hands on Tanzeem.

The book begins where Blowback ends. After the confrontation with the heads of the Indian Mujahideen, Iqbal, the undercover Force-22 operative decides that he needs to go into the heart of Pakistan and take out the killing machines with his own hands. Despite attempts by the top brass to prevent him from taking such a decision, he doesn’t heed their warnings and takes on the arduous journey. The rest of the story deals with how he succeeds in finding and befriending the group of terror masters waiting to unleash a wave of urban global terror. Does he succeed? Is he killed? You got to read it.

To read more log on to – https://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2012/01/31/book-review-tanzeem/

Book Review – The Suicide Banker

After “If God was a Banker” and “Devil in Pinstripes, “The Suicide Banker” is the third novel I have come across on the inner workings of the banking world. But this book was sent across to me by the author himself as he seemed impressed with my unbiased book reviews. So I began reading the book in the hope that I would find something different from the earlier banking tales. Does it succeed? Let’s see.

To read more log on to – https://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2012/01/22/book-review-the-suicide-banker/

Book Review – The Patriot

To be truthful I hadn’t ever heard of this book or the author. A couple of weeks back I got an email from him asking me to review his labour of love. I immediately checked out the synopsis and was hooked on. A novel on marine terrorism and that too by an Indian author is as rare as it can get.

The book goes with the tagline: Terror on the High Seas. Going through the cover with the image showing a very rough sea and a ship – INS Indraprastha in the background, you start thinking that this is going to be a real thrill ride.

To read more log on to – https://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2011/12/04/book-review-the-patriot/

Book Review – Of Dreams

Now this is the 1st book for which I was asked to write a review. Obviously it wasn’t a paid one before you start thinking I am being paid to write good things ;) . But instead I got this opportunity because my couple of book reviews till date seem to have been liked by some people around. Anyways let’s get to the point.

‘Of Dreams’ is the first attempt at writing by Aditi Talwar Sodhi whose different from our regular out of college writers in the sense that she is an MBA professional with pretty good experience in the advertising industry. When you read the synopsis you realize that the book is about three girls and their dreams and what happens within. 3 girls? Now that’s something different than the regular boy-girl love sagas or gang of boys stories floating around in the Indian market.

To read more log on to – https://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2011/11/27/book-review-of-dreams/

Book Review – Devil in Pinstripes

Devil in Pinstripes is Ravi Subramanian’s third novel after “If God was a Banker” and “I bought the Monk’s Ferrari”. But this is his second attempt at talking about his life and experiences at Citibank which he did pretty well in “If God was a Banker”. So does his third book manage to capture the interest of the readers? Let’s see.

To read more log on to – https://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2011/11/13/book-review-devil-in-pinstripes/

Book Review – Revolution 2020
Revolution 2020 is Chetan Bhagat’s fifth book after four successive best sellers. With over 5 lakh pre – orders you could be forgiven for thinking that his latest offering was keenly awaited by his fans after a 2 year drought with his “2 States: The Story of My Marriage” releasing way back in 2009. With a title like “Revolution 2020″ and Love.Corruption.Ambition as its tagline / slogan, you expect something different from Chetan Bhagat this time. So does this book succeed? Let’s see!

To read more log on to – https://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2011/10/09/book-review-revolution-2020/

Book Review – Blowback
“Blowback” is the third in the Lashkar series by Mukul Deva. With his amazingly vivid descriptions of what goes in the mind of a terrorist, to how terrorist attacks are planned to even describing weapons in great detail, Mukul has brought alive the concept of military thrillers in India.

“Blowback” begins where “Salim Must Die” ends with Iqbal (The terrorist turned Force 22 officer) and Tanaz having to stay back in Pakistan. After spending a few days in a terrorist hideout they manage to reach India only to find out that a group called Indian Mujahideen (IM) behind terror strikes in Surat, Jaipur and Varanasi . The rest of the book deals with how he is sent undercover to destroy the group and save millions of lives.

To read more log on to – https://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2011/07/05/book-review-blowback/

Book Review – Salim Must Die

‘Salim Must Die’ is the second book in the Lashkar series by Mukul Deva. If you enjoyed Lashkar, you will love Salim Must Die. If you are craving for the growth of the thriller genre, Salim Must Die is for you. If you want a dose of reality and fiction intertwined, Salim Must Die should be your next read.

To read more log on to – https://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2011/06/20/salim-must-die-book-review/

Book Review – If God was a Banker
“If God was a Banker” is Ravi Subramanian’s first novel published way back in 2007. As an IIM Bangalore passout who works in HSBC, he seems to have the quintessential characteristics a young Indian writer needs in today’s world or so it seems. I wanted to pick up the book since quite a while and finally when I did, it took me few months to come up reading it. Not because it was boring but because I was busy.

It is about two guys – Sundeep and Swami. Both are as different as chalk and cheese. While the former is money minded and would even sell his wife to make some quick bucks, the latter is the idealistic man who would give his other cheek if slapped on one ala Mahatma Gandhi. And true to what you must be thinking right now, both are adversaries in the true sense of the word.

To read more log on to – https://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2011/05/17/book-review-if-god-was-a-banker/

Book Review – Another Chance
Another Chance is Ahmed Faiyaz’s second writing venture after his bestseller “Love Life and All that Jazz”. This book has come out pretty close on heels to his previous book.

From the prologue itself you realise that this book can be right away made into a Bollywood flick. And that point is affirmed as one gets engrossed in the book. The story moves forward from where Love, Life and All that Jazz ended with the friends just out of college. Here it’s about how the protagonists are able to maintain a consistent work – life balance as well as give time to their loved ones.

To read more log on to – https://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2011/01/05/book-review-another-chance/

Book Review – Imperial Life in the Emerald City: Inside Baghdad’s Green Zone
This is the first book I have read about the American occupation in Iraq. Its gives the real picture of what exactly happened during the 2003 war and in the years ensuing that. Rajiv Chandrashekaran is a writer and reporter who stayed in Baghdad for quite some time before and after the war. This book contains a lot of narration and also conversations which he had with various individuals of the CPA (Coalition Provisional Authority) – the administrative occupation force, the police force, army and other citizens of Iraq.

To read more log on to – https://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2010/07/18/book-review-imperial-life-in-the-emerald-city-inside-baghads-green-zone-americas-true-story-in-iraq/

Book Review – The Gamechangers
The Fake IPL Player (FIP) is back and that too with a bang. For the uninitiated, the FIP may or may not be an IPL player but his blog has become more famous than IPL. Be it his internal gossip about the different teams in IPL particularly Punjab, Kolkata and Bangalore or his different nicknames for the different celebrities involved with this hugely prestigious tournament, his popularity has touch sky high levels even in centers where people don’t watch IPL. He had promised to reveal himself at the end of IPL 3 but in the end just posted a video on his blog with his shadow saying that he is just a person who loves cricket and nothing more. And now he has come up with a book on the controversies he has generated over the years. I must say, its an amazing way to keep his popularity sky high.

The “Gamechangers” is about IBL (Indian Bollywood League) which happens at Lords, England in 2009 over 35 days. Some of the different teams taking part include Haryana Hurricanes, Rajput Rifles, Bangalore Bombers, Calcutta Cavalry etc. Each and everyone from Vijay Mallya (Raj Singhania) to Shane Warne (Sheik of Tweak) and even Sachin Tendulkar (God) is a part of this book.

To read more log on to – https://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2010/07/03/book-review-the-gamechangers/

Book Review – Connect the Dots
“Connect the Dots” is a book written by Rashmi Bansal (entrepreneur, writer, blogger all rolled into one). It tells the stories of courage, determination and inspiration of 20 people from different backgrounds who chose to become entrepreneurs without doing an MBA. This is her 2nd book. Her 1st book “Stay Hungry Stay Foolish” was a similar story of famous entrepreneurs. But the difference was that all of them had done their MBAs from Indian Institute of Management, Ahmedabad.

To read more log on to – https://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2010/06/26/book-review-connect-the-dots/

Book review – Love, Life and all that Jazz!
Love, Life and all that Jazz is Ahmed Faiyaz’s (Our esteemed alumunus from SIBM Pune = 2004 – 06 batch) first novel. The book is a journey of 4 friends (Tanveer, Tania, Sameer and Vikram) across 6 years from 2003-09. The novel does initially seem to be the run – of – the – mill kinds of novels which we find in our country today among young writers who think they are the next Chetan Bhagat in the making. But as it moves on, you do realise that this guy has a story to tell unlike many others of our generation.

To read more log on to – https://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2010/05/05/book-review-love-life-and-all-that-jazz/

Book Review – Dork
Dork is the story of Robin Verghese (Were Geese) or “Einstein” who passes out of WIMWI (Well Known Institute of Management in Western India – IIM A) to get a job in Dufresene Partners. It’s written by Sidin Vadukut. First things first, Thankfully its not the usual boy+girl+other hot girls+thinking of sex etc etc etc kind of novel which youngsters nowadays have come about to write. It is a journey of this Malayali guy into the corporate world and then to stardom.

The book is really amazingly written. Its witty and funny throughout with not a dull dialogue in between. The fact that its someone’s diary entry makes it even more compelling. The first part about the placement where Robin wants to get into Goldman Sachs and a day zero job is so real life which anyone of us MBAs can easily associate with.

To read more log on to – https://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2010/04/28/book-review-dork/

Book Review – “A Cause Untrue”
“Combining the pace of Forbes, the action of Ludlum and the imagination of Forsyth…Blacker’s intoxicating thriller is a technical tour de force”. That’s one of the reviews at the back of this amazingly gripping novel written by David Blacker, an ex – Srilankan Army guy who has seen many combat operations with the Liberation Tamil Tigers Eelam during his stint with the army. I picked up this book randomly or you can say after seeing the cover which has different shades of green, brown and black and the fact that the name of the book had a line below it saying  “Sri Lanka’s Tigers take their war across the world…”. Till date I have always heard of non – fiction novels based on 9/11, 26/11 and other terror attacks (I am sure fiction must be there too…but never heard of it). So on seeing this, I felt really excited hoping the book would be a great read. And the book doesn’t disappoint one bit. Personally speaking its one of the most amazing novels I have ever read.

To read more log on to – https://aseemrastogi2.wordpress.com/2009/12/30/book-review-a-cause-untrue/

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

11 thoughts on “Book Reviews

    • Dear Parimal,

      Your novel looks really different and interesting from the many I have seen in recent times. Would love to check it out :). Probably I can mail you my address and you could send me the book. Would review it and get back. Would this be fine?

      Regards,
      Aseem

  1. Hello Aseem,

    My name is Rajshri Raajgopal. My first novel, Boomerang, published by Leadstart, is now available online. If the publisher has not already sent it to you, I would love to have it reviewed by you. Please let me know if I can send you my book and to which address. I would be grateful.

    Meanwhile, this is the link where it is currently available. It would give you the synopsis and some general reviews, thereby an idea of what the novel is about.

    http://www.flipkart.com/boomerang/p/itmdgtt3hmpcxghp?pid=9789382473299&_l=Tnndui8JdMVk7CZmDKIfXQ–&_r=RsuiHvNUWzIGQmMYN5OGLg–&ref=5b4d5281-3009-4164-8ab5-ce9ab5867eba&otracker=start&autosuggest=&selmitem=All%20Categories&query=9789382473299

    I look forward to hearing from you.

    Thanks and regards
    Rajshri

    • Thanks Pooja for dropping by :). You guys have an interesting set of titles. Keep up the great work :).

      I would be interested to review Faceless and The Silicon Mind.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s